The Four Stages of COPD

Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease (COPD) is currently the third leading cause of death in the United States, preceded only by heart disease and cancer. It also encompasses two types of chronic lung diseases – emphysema and chronic bronchitis. The main cause of COPD is smoking, so in essence, smoking tobacco is actually the third leading cause of death in the United States. There is much that isn't widely known about COPD, which is the main reason it's one of the top three killer diseases.

Healthcare officials have broken COPD into 4 stages: mild, moderate, severe and very severe. The stages are determined by tests administer by your doctor, such a spirometry tests and arterial blood gas tests. From these tests, your doctor will be able to tell you at which stage it has advanced to, and how it should be treated. The earlier it's caught, the easier it will be to treat it and hopefully stop it from progressing. The first and most important thing you can do, however, is stop smoking and distance yourself from cigarette smoke as much as possible.

Stage I COPD – Mild

Most patients aren't diagnosed at this stage, because this stage is so subtle they don't even think to suspect that something is wrong. If you have a history of smoking, or if you've lived for many years with people who smoke heavily, you will need to keep a close eye on your lung health after the age of 40. Age and tobacco smoke put you at a high risk of developing COPD.

The things you need to watch out for, is if you have a productive cough that goes on for much longer than a regular chest cold would. You might have gotten a cold, had a cough, gotten treated for it and the rest of the symptoms have gone away, but you still have that cough over a month later. You may have gotten your first exacerbation (COPD flare-up), which in a mild stage case, is just a chronic cough and excessive mucous production. If this is the case, you should go get checked out and voice your concerns to your doctor. It's usually just treated with a prescribed short acting bronchodilator.

COPD breakdown in the United States

Stage II COPD – Moderate

Your chronic cough would be worse at this stage, and you would be experiencing unusual shortness of breath after doing typing everyday things, such as climbing stairs or while doing something mildly strenuous. This is the stage where it's more likely to be noticed and diagnosed. Your doctor might prescribe both long acting and short acting bronchodilators, as well as exercise and pulmonary rehabilitation to stop the advancement of the disease and regain some lung function.

Stage III COPD – Severe

You will find yourself becoming very tired, short of breath, and exacerbations are more common. You're much more suceptible to complications from the common cold, and getting a flu and pnemonia shot are required. You will most likely prescribed bronchodilators, pulmonary rehab, and you might need to start using an oxygen concentrator to make sure you are getting enough oxygen throughout your body.

Stage IV COPD – Very Severe

Tasks as simple as eating become difficult during this stage of COPD. Your quality of life is much lower, and there is a very high risk for cardiovascular complications from the lack of oxygen in your body. Your doctor will most likely prescribe the use of oxygen therapy, as well as bronchodilators, corticosteroids, vaccines and antibiotics to prevent any complications from lung infections and things like the flu.

23 Million Americans suffer from COPD

Leave a Comment